All Because of a Tennis Ball

Wow, God works in mysterious ways, right?!? Well, I know that is true now! To begin my story I will tell you who I am going to be talking about. There are two girls who recently moved across the street from us. We didn’t really get to know them yet, but I do know that they are 11 and 9. I have been praying lately that I could get to know them πŸ™‚ Ok, the story starts out like this: Our whole family decided to just sit outside last evening, hoping that maybe some of the kids we DO know would decide to come play. Me and my little brother Alex got bored and wanted to play pitch-and-catch with our baseball and gloves. Turns out that we couldn’t find the baseball ANYWHERE!!! Dad said to just use a tennis ball to play. I guess I have to tell the whole story with every detail, don’t I? Well, I have to say that I was not very happy, because tennis balls are bouncy and hard to catch in a baseball glove. But Dad told us to just try it for a while. After a few throws, I decided to use my bare hands, no glove. (I forgot to say that I was standing with my back downhill, so if I wouldn’t catch the ball, it would start to roll onto the road and down the hill.) Meanwhile, I noticed one of the girls standing outside, playing around by herself. But I am not one person that will just walk up and say “Hi, what is your name? I would like to be your friend!” So, back to our story…Well, it just so happens that Alex threw the ball a little too hard and I couldn’t catch it! So it started rolling across the road and it rolled right close to the girl. As she picked the tennis ball up and handed it to me, I was thinking, “Ok, here is my chance to tell her hi and make a friend.” (But, as I said earlier, I don’t usually do that…) πŸ™‚ Well, all I can say is that God helped me. All of a sudden, I found myself asking her what her name was, telling her mine, and inviting her to come over and play with us! Don’t ask me why or how I did it, because I don’t know! πŸ™‚ Once the other neighborhood kids saw that someone else was here, they started coming over too! After about 15 minutes, we had a yard full of kids! Turns out that the girl I met was Jada, and she is 9. We had a blast! They all stayed and played till dark, then Dad had to tell them to go home… One 9 year old boy, Mikey, said he is coming back tomorrow! So, apparently, they had a blast too. πŸ™‚ And you know what, it was all because of that stupid tennis ball.

5 thoughts on “All Because of a Tennis Ball

  1. Ok, now I will post one for you, Alyssa! πŸ™‚ This is so exciting to hear,how you were able to get” connections’, from just a little incident. But you know, I believe that nothing like this is “little ” in God’s eyes. It is all providence! He directed that ball, so that you would be able to talk to this girl. I know you believe that too:) God bless you as you continue to be a light in your”back yard” for Jesus! We’re praying for you! God bless you! Pam

Feel free to post opinions, corrections, or comments.

